Faculty

James B. Elsner

Earl & Sofia Shaw Professor
Department Chair
Bellamy 323A
jelsner@fsu.edu

Hurricanes, tornadoes, climate change, applied statistics, spatial statistics

Mabel Gergan

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 302
mgergan@fsu.edu

The Himalayan region, indigenous youth, hazards and precarity, climate justice, postcolonial environmental politics, race and ethnicity in South Asia

Mark W. Horner

Professor
Associate Dean for Research COSSPP
(850) 644-8377
Bellamy 318
mhorner@fsu.edu

Transportation, GIScience, urban geography, accessibility, spatial analysis

Bradford (Brad) Johnson

Assistant Professor (Visiting)
Bellamy 316
bdjohnson@fsu.edu

Weather, climate, cities.

Sarah Lester

Assistant Professor
Graduate Program Committee
(850) 644-1619
Bellamy 303
slester@fsu.edu

Marine conservation and protected areas, natural resource management and policy, marine spatial planning/ocean zoning, sustainable seafood, fisheries assessment and management, biogeography and macroecology

Tyler McCreary

Assistant Professor
Graduate Program Committee
Bellamy 309
tmccreary@fsu.edu

Geographies of race and indigeneity, geographies of science and technology, legal geographies, labor geographies, environmental justice, political ecology, infrastructure

Victor Mesev

Harrison V. Chase Distinguished Professor of Geography
Undergraduate Program Director
Bellamy 310
vmesev@fsu.edu

GIS/remote sensing, urban image classification, disaggregate cartography, conflict mapping, geography of sport

Stephanie Pau

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 306
spau@fsu.edu

Biogeography, biodiversity conservation, global change ecology, climate change, remote sensing

Sage Ponder

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 305
csponder@fsu.edu

Municipal debt; urban social reproduction; infrastructure; geographies of racialization; urban social movements; just socio-ecological transitions; socio-spatial theory; political economy

Christopher Uejio

Assistant Professor
Graduate Program Director
Bellamy 317A
cuejio@fsu.edu

Public health, medical geography, climate variability, climate change, vulnerability, health disparities, health interventions, environmental health, infectious diseases (mosquitoborne, waterborne, foodborne), stakeholder driven science

Sandy Wong

Assistant Professor
Colloquium Director
Bellamy 308
swong@fsu.edu

Health inequalities, social processes of disablement and mobility, environmental influences on health, mixed quantitative and qualitative methods, health GIS

Xiaojun Yang

Professor
Bellamy 321
xyang@fsu.edu

Remote sensing, GIS, urban ecology and land change science, applied geomorphology and geohazards, China

Tingting Zhao

Associate Professor
Bellamy 304
tzhao@fsu.edu

GIS, landscape ecology, land change science, carbon cycle, energy, cancer

Faculty Past & Present