Faculty

James B. Elsner

Earl & Sofia Shaw Professor, Department Chair
Bellamy 323A
jelsner@fsu.edu

Hurricanes, tornadoes, climate change, applied statistics, spatial statistics

David C. Folch

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 308
dfolch@fsu.edu

Geocomputation, spatial analysis, GIScience, urban analytics, neighborhood change, gentrification, segregation

Mark W. Horner

Professor
(850) 644-8377
Bellamy 318
mhorner@fsu.edu

Transportation, GIScience, urban geography, accessibility, spatial analysis

Mary Lawhon

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 302
mlawhon@fsu.edu

Political geography, (urban) political ecology, development geography/theory from the South, urban geography, waste politics, (South) Africa, sociotechnical systems.

Sarah Lester

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 303
slester@fsu.edu

Marine conservation and protected areas, natural resource management and policy, marine spatial planning/ocean zoning, sustainable seafood, fisheries assessment and management, biogeography and macroecology

Tyler McCreary

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 305
tmccreary@fsu.edu

Geographies of race and indigeneity, colonialism and racialization, environmental justice, political ecology, legal geographies, labor geographies

Victor Mesev

Harrison V. Chase Distinguished Professor of Geography
Director of Graduate Program & Undergraduate Program
(850) 645-2498
Bellamy 310
vmesev@fsu.edu

GIS/remote sensing, urban image classification, disaggregate cartography, conflict mapping, geography of sport

Stephanie Pau

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 306
spau@fsu.edu

Biogeography, biodiversity conservation, global change ecology, climate change, remote sensing

Joseph Pierce

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 309
jpierce3@fsu.edu

Urban politics, sustainability, place theory, urban terrain, American urban form, South African urbanisms, alternative property theory, qualitative methods, qualitative GIS.

Christopher Uejio

Assistant Professor
Bellamy 317A
cuejio@fsu.edu

Public health, medical geography, climate variability, climate change, vulnerability, health disparities, health interventions, environmental health, infectious diseases (mosquitoborne, waterborne, foodborne), stakeholder driven science

Xiaojun Yang

Professor
Bellamy 321
xyang@fsu.edu

Remote sensing, GIS, urban ecology and land change science, applied geomorphology and geohazards, China

Tingting Zhao

Associate Professor
Bellamy 304
tzhao@fsu.edu

GIS, landscape ecology, land change science, carbon cycle, energy, cancer